Layoff-nomics Part 2

Being laid off sucks! But I can't let the past dictate my future. I'm blessed I have some income to live normally. Thanks to wifey. As for me, I'm stressing out when my unemployment runs out. It will be 6 months in March 2023. I'm also grateful I can take classes at Bellevue College. The process is slow but moving along.

I'm taking IT231, which is an intro to cloud class but it's using AWS. I'm also taking a communications class which is to fulfill the degree. As part of my cloud journey, I will be blogging about projects I finish. The projects I will be documenting will be from my class and whizlabs. I recently subscribed to whizlabs, which is a fantastic online learning site for various cloud, security and other technology certificates.

I don't know if I'm trying too hard but I'm feeling the pressure to gain valuable experience in the cloud. I recently started to volunteer for a nonprofit group called Citizen Advocates. I'm hoping to gain real-life AWS cloud experience. So far, the cloud dev group is trying to agree on a time to meet regularly.

I recently put my resume on AWS! I bought the cheapest domain name for $3 per year. I used AWS S3 and AWS Route 53. I put an index.html file stored in the AWS S3 and bought a domain name instead of the AWS default name. This was the fastest way I could make a resume on to the website. First, I converted my Word resume to HTML format and saved it as an index.html file and upload it to the S3 bucket. This is the fastest way I can show some progress in my AWS cloud journey and it's mainly for recruiters. My next project is to learn some html, CSS and use those languages to host my resume. But for now, this is the fastest way to put my resume on a website. Like mentioned earlier, I will be a link for my projects from class, whizlabs, or youtube.

Here's my resume in AWS - weiproject.click

Don't let the .click fool you, it's a real domain name.